National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Key Facts about CCO

  • The National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators (CCO) is an independent, not-for-profit organization founded in January 1995 to establish and administer a nationwide program for the certification of load handling equipment operators.
  • CCO has administered over 1.5 million written and practical examinations and issued more than 425,000 certifications in all 50 states, ensuring that a significant portion of load handling equipment operators throughout the nation are informed, trained, and qualified.
  • CCO programs meet federal OSHA regulations and American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME B30 standards.
  • The CCO national certification programs were the first to be recognized by the federal Occupational Safety & Health Administration as meeting OSHA’s requirements for load handling equipment operator competency. This formal agreement between OSHA and CCO provided for the first time significant benefits for employers who adopt the CCO certification program.
  • The benefits of CCO’s nationwide certification programs include reduced risk of loss, fewer accidents, more consistent training, and expanded job opportunities for those who work in and around load handling equipment.
  • CCO certification is designed to assure both industry and the general public that employees working with load handling equipment are skilled and knowledgeable.
  • A CCO certification card is issued to those who meet eligibility requirements and pass written and practical exams demonstrating fundamental knowledge of and skills in safe operations.
  • CCO has the support of a diverse group of load handling equipment–using industries, including construction, utilities, energy, steel erection, equipment rental, automotive, petrochemicals, and pulp/paper.
  • CCO activities center on these three specific areas:
    • Validating knowledge and proficiency
    • Developing and administering examinations to test that knowledge and proficiency
    • Issuing certification to those who meet the appropriate criteria
  • CCO programs are:
    • National in scope
    • Operated by the private sector (non-profit)
    • Independent of labor relations policies
    • Tailored to different types of load handling equipment–related activities
    • Accredited by a nationally recognized professional credentialing authority, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    • Officially recognized by Federal OSHA
  • Examinations are administered on demand at sites across the U.S. Tests are available in both a traditional paper/pencil format and via computer-based testing (CBT).
  • In addition to the Occupational Safety & Health Administration, CCO also works closely with other U.S. federal agencies including the Department of Defense, the Department of Education, the Department of Energy, Department of the Navy, the U.S. Corps of Engineers, and the Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • CCO coordinates its testing services through all major industry groups, and is formally recognized by many including:
    • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
    • American Subcontractors Association (ASA)
    • Articulating Crane Council of North America (ACCNA)
    • Associated General Contractors of America (AGC)
    • Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM)
    • Construction Institute (CI)
    • Crane Certification Association of America (CCAA)
    • Crane Manufacturers Association of America (CMAA)
    • Finishing Trades Institute (FTI)
    • International Association of Foundation Drilling (ADSC)
    • International Sign Association (ISA)
    • International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE)
    • National Wireless Safety Alliance (NWSA)
    • Pile Driving Contractors Association (PDCA)
    • Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association (SC&RA)
    • Steel Erectors Association of America (SEAA)
    • The Association of Union Constructors (TAUC)
    • United Association (UA)